Cracking hip bones, crisps and comics.

Standard

just noticed that the gothenburg film festival is kicking off the 27th of januari. STOKED!

today’s been quite lame, my body’s acting up, slept till almost 11 and woke up with a shitty stomach. At least I slept more than I’ve done the last week. Emil went off to spend some time with his mum, diminishing the amar bhawan boys to 2. I’ve just been camped up in my room for the major part of the day, but at least I’ve done something about the essay. Read Understanding Hinduism, by Frank Whaling, cover to cover, and the major part of David Kinsley’s Hindu Goddesses, so now I’m eager to start chipping away at the background chapter of my paper. Can’t find a decent book depicting the Hindu caste system, but oh well, can’t have it all, now, can we?
What else… I’m a bit confused about the whole mail system in India, and now I don’t mean the regular post, but how people react to e-mails. I’ve been sending my Hindi teacher mails, asking for him to help me with a translation but I never got a response. However, when I met him, he said “I’ve read your mail”. So… great, but what does that inclince? You helping me, or a polite way of saying ‘stop bugging me?’ Heh… hard to know. Anyhow, time to take a break from the essay and indulge in some crisps and comics, it’s Saturday after all.

Tomorrow I’ll head out for the banks of Ganga along with Steve and the staff at Open Hand. It’s time for Kabaddi ya’ll! I’ll keep you posted.

Over and out,

Gorge

About SacredBananas

this blog contains the adventures of a 23-year-old Swedish student, currently residing in Banaras, the city of light. Why, you ask? Well, because curry is made of sheer awesomeness (and that I would like to complete my C thesis in Religion). This blog is mainly directed towards my loved ones, but even if I may not know (or love) you it does not mean you cannot read my blog. Multiple negations, I know... Deal with it.

2 responses »

Leave a comment